South Wales Open Seniors 2019


St Mellons G.C. 14th / 15th July


Mike Hayward’s birdie run gives him open seniors’ championship

With glorious weather and a course in great condition and firm but true greens it was going to take two good scores to take the Open Seniors’ title. Current Welsh Seniors’ Champion, Glamorganshire’s Nick Grimmitt set the early pace with a first round 71. In second place was Royal Porthcawl’s Mark Phillips on 74 with a posse of strong players close behind.
After 9 holes of the second round Radyr’s Gwyn Jones, Nick and Newport’s Mike hayward were in close contention. However Hayward with 3 birdies in the last 7 holes pulled clear of Jones, paying in the same group who played them in level Par. This left Grimmitt needing a birdie on the last to tie on 143 however he had his worst hole of the day, a triple bogey 7 to finish in third place.
Overall a great couple of days hosted most impressively by the St Mellons club with a course that was universally praised by all competitors and a credit to the course manager and his staff. Our (and the players’) thanks to all concerned.
CSS was SSS+2 for Round 1 (73)
​and SSS+1 for round 2 (72)

Leading Scores

 Rd 1Rd 236
Mike Hayward7568143
Gwyn Jones7470144
Nick Grimmitt7176147
Nigel Evans7672148
Colin WM Jones7673149
Andrew Williams7574149
Jeffrey Thomas7675151
Mike Roper7973152
Phillip Evans7676152
Chris Hunt7577152
Colin Watkins8174155
Brian Rigby7877155
Paul Lamb8473157
Pat Regan7879157
David Phillips7483157
Andrew Ritter8375158
Kevin Spear7979158
Keith Stimpson7979158
Mike Gwyther 7979158
Kerry Jones7880158
Nick Caulfield8079159

Prize Winners


Catagory Winners
Sunday 2nd NettChristopher HuntSt Mellons75 - 471
Sunday Best NettPaul MoltonNewport74-569
Sunday 2nd Gross Mark PhillipsRyl Porthcawl74
Sunday Best GrossNick GrimmittGlamorganshire71
Monday 2nd NettJon CookCeltic Manor79-1168
Monday Best NettPaul LambNewbury & Crookham73-667
Monday 2nd GrossGwyn JonesRadyr70
Monday Best GrossMike HaywardNewport68


36 Holes Prizes
3rd NettMike RoperNewport75+69144
2nd NettColin WatkinsSt Mellons75+68143
Best NettJon CookCeltic Manor74+68142
3rd GrossNick GrimmittGlamorganshire71+76147
Runner-upGwyn JonesRadyr74+70144
Champion 2019Mike HaywardNewport 75+68143